Gopalpur is famous for health environment.
As of 2011 India census, Gopalpur had a population of 10,800. Males constitute 50% of the population and females 50%. Gopalpur has an average literacy rate of 51%, lower than the national average of 59.5%: male literacy is 59%, and female literacy is 42%. In Gopalpur, 12% of the population is under 6 years of age.

Current MLA from Gopalpur (SC) Assembly Constituency is PRADEEP PANIGRAHI of [BJD], who won the seat in State elections of 2009. Previous MLAs from this seat include Rama Chandra Sethy who won this seat in 2000 as BJD candidate and as JD candidate in 1995 and 1990, and Ghanashyam Behera who won this seat as INC candidate in 1985 and 1977 and as INC(I) candidate in 1980.